UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

Sara Danaher

Posted by Sara Rebeca on 2009/09/07

Sara

Hola, I am Sara Danaher. I am a senior computer science student at the University of the Virgin Islands (UVI) on the St. Croix Campus. I grew up in Guatemala and studied in an electrical program at a very competitive technical school.  I had the opportunity to apply for the Cooperative Association of State Scholarships program offered in the United States. This marked the first time I would be away from my family and study in a foreign country whose language I could not speak.

I attended Kentucky State University (KSU) and received an associate degree in biomedical electronics technology. Later I matriculated into the University of the Virgin Islands’ (UVI) computer science program. Working full-time at UVI and attending school part-time was demanding. I made the decision to resign from my full-time job and return to college as a full-time student. I intend to begin graduate studies in computer science or computer engineering after graduating from UVI. After completing my academics I would like to work in the area of research and development for the public or private sector. I look forward to working on the Ingres project.

Leave a Reply

 
