UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

Dana McDougal

Posted by islandgyal on 2009/09/10

Me

Hello, my name is Dana McDougal and I am currently a senior majoring in computer science at the University of the Virgin Islands.
I am a member of a prestige organization in U.V.I. called the Emerging Caribbean Scientists.  The ECS consists of multiple programs that focus on increasing research training for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics students. 

While attending U.V.I., I got an opportunity to participate in a summer research experience with the RISE program.  I examined decision tree models for solving classification problems in data mining.  The main focus of my research was on the limitations of ID3 algorithm and how the C4.5 algorithm, which is an extension of the ID3, solves those restrictions.  

My primary area of interest in computer science is software engineering and it is what I plan to specialize in when proceed to graduate school. 

I am very excited for the opportunity to work on the Thunderbird project this semester and I’m sure it will be lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

 
