UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

Post-mortem

Posted by Tara on 2009/11/24

I think that this course was a great way to finish off my undergraduate computer science career. I am working on the MarkUs project.

One of the things that I really like about MarkUs is that we have students working on developing a system that students will use to submit assignments. I really wish that we could use a similar methodology to develop a new course registration system (similar to the functionality that PeopleSoft’s QUEST currently provides for us) and an online course system (similar to ANGEL or WebCT). I think that one of the aspects that our project highly benefited from was that it was already reasonably well-established, from the developers who worked full-time over this past summer.

One of the things that I didn’t like was the IRC meetings. My team chose to give status reports the night before the meetings and then we could all read them at the beginning of the meeting, rather than waiting for each person to type out their status. This was a great idea and definitely helped our meetings to be more efficient, but I found it to be rather ineffective that one person would collect the status updates and post them to the blog – it would have been much more efficient for everyone to post their own status updates in a blog post and then for the last person editing it to publish the post.

Overall, I think that this was a great course and have recommended it to some friends.

Leave a Reply

 
