UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

What went right, wrong this year

Posted by djkelvin on 2009/11/24

Thumbs up: Sponsors, I liked the fact that we were able to get further acquainted with  large businesses in the computer science field such as Ingres, Tucows, Yahoo, and Rogers Communication. I also agree with Greg’s point, and it was a good learning experience to work on projects in a different setting and environment.

Thumbs down: Though this may have  been expensive, I would’ve liked to have a UCOSP meeting like the initial sprint at the end of this experience to wrap up the project. I think this would also be helpful to gauge experiences and follow-up on progress and accomplishments of other teams. Writing about it is good but I think just as in the sprint, face to face communication is essential

2 Responses to “What went right, wrong this year”

  1. John Peters said

    Thumbs down: Though this may have been expensive, I would’ve liked to have a UCOSP meeting like the initial sprint at the end of this experience to wrap up the project. I think this would also be helpful to gauge experiences and follow-up on progress and accomplishments of other teams. Writing about it is good but I think just as in the sprint, face to face communication is essential

    Expense would have definitely been a factor, but I think the biggest cost would be time. Taking off an entire weekend at the end of term? I wouldn’t have been able to attend at the cost of my other courses, and I doubt many others would have been able to either.

    • djkelvin said

      I thought about that. I guess there is no easy way around that problem. Thanks for your comment

Leave a Reply

 
