UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

Did somebody say post-mortem?

Posted by Gabriel Roy-Lortie on 2009/11/25

Can’t believe this is coming to an end already. I’ve read it before, but let it be the best experience of my undergraduate career too.🙂

Con : Setting-up

Maybe it’s just about me (but I don’t think so), and I know that MarkUs was, by far, not the worst project for that concern, but I didn’t enjoy the set-up time. One could argue that I never do. One would be right. Indeed, if I could spend my whole time working on interesting development problems rather that boring configuration tune-ups, I would be in my perfect world. On the other hand, it’s part of the job, and we should appreciate the formation it gives us in problems hunting. Let’s just say that, efforts should be made to ensure the next students face less problems during that crucial (sometimes painful) part of their UCOSP experience in order for them to spend even more time coding great new features.

Thumbs up : Having to meet with great tools

The review board, for one, gave me the chance to read more code in a semester than I think I had in my whole life🙂. This (or anything similar) is definitely a must have if you wish to: 1) keep the quality of your code base high, and 2) Keep developers up to date with where the code base is going, by having a chance to look at new code before it reaches the repository. Which is especially relevant to distributed development (like ours!)

Let’s not forget

I would like to add a special thank for Adam Goucher and Mike Gunderloy. These two professionals wandered around our meetings, review boards, mailing list and whatnot, providing helpful advices on many issues we were facing. This whole experience was my introduction to the open source community, and even though I had no particular expectations, I was gladly surprised to meet people like these.

In the hope that I manage to participate again[1] next year (and meet some of you again).

Gabriel

[1] Need to fit this into a local course. I’m working on it.

Leave a Reply

 
