UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

Thoughts on RoboCup

Posted by kyokko on 2009/11/26

I worked on RoboCup and I have to say it didn’t turn out to be what I expected in the beginning. But I really enjoyed it despite the problems we had (just like any other team this term).

There isn’t a whole lot of bad things I can say about the csc494 experience. We pretty much lost that month before the Code Sprint because we couldn’t get an access to the repository. Also it took me personally few weeks after the Code Sprint to actually understand what is it that we were working on and how to approach it. It would have been nice to have a little more guidance, but on the other hand it was cool to be able to set our own priorities too.

Good thing, is that despite being geographically dispersed, my team did a pretty good job communicating with each other.

Overall, I think I got an invaluable experience working on RoboCup. It’s one of those things that look sort of easy on paper  but are overwhelmingly complex when you start implementing them. It also taught me not to be too optimistic when making plans and not to assume correctness of the code that wasn’t my own.


Leave a Reply

 
