UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

post mortem (ie. ++&death)

Posted by kozlowm on 2009/11/28

The Good: I, for one, really loved the grad school talk, I think that it was very insightful and I’m really glad that we got the opportunity to attend it.

The Bad: Can’t do pair programming when team members are 500km away😦 This might be a personal preference but I’m a huge fan of pair programming, I find development a lot smoother and it’s also easy to stay motivated and on track. I’m sure this won’t be the last time I work in a team setting like this, so I guess all in all it’s a good experience to go through.

The Ugly:

2 Responses to “post mortem (ie. ++&death)”

  1. Actually, you’d be surprised how effective remote pair programming can be when you’ve got the right tools.

    Example one: Gobby. Setting up a server can be a bit tricky, but it works *extremely* well as a real-time collaborative editor.

  2. kozlowm said

    The problem is that programming isn’t all about coding, there’s a lot of conversation and debating as well as google-ing and no matter what sort of tools you have you can’t replace the amount of bandwidth a face to face conversation has. I agree, there are a lot of things you can do using Gobby or other similar tools and they’re very useful for situations such as these.

Leave a Reply

 
