UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

One Good, One Bad

Posted by bkonrad on 2009/11/30

Good

The code sprint.  Hands down the most fun part of the course for me (as it was last year), I enjoyed meeting the smart people who make up the Basie team and solving a few key design problems.  The Basie team came from all over, and it was a blast.

The Bad

Remote, remote, remote.  I know that this business “can be done from anywhere”, but it’s just not the same IMO.  I set up some phone chats this term that hopefully made everything a bit more human, but more of that would have been great.  If I was in charge I would require that a student doing a code review for another student have AT LEAST one “real” discussion about the purpose of the code in question.  The process of explaining one’s code very often reveals shortfalls or room for awesome improvement.

Just my two cents (we have a lot of cents here now!)

Leave a Reply

 
