UCOSP

Undergraduate Capstone Open Source Projects

Kefu Zhao — Midterm Update

Posted by fishz48 on 2010/03/01

My Goal and Expectation

My work at Thunderbird is mainly to fix a bug regarding to the “Reply To List” feature. By working on this bug, I am expecting to get myself further exposed to real industrialized products based on my computing science knowledge gained from previous school and work experience.

What I have done so far and What have I learned

First of all, I have to say that my ability to analyze problems is greatly enhanced through working on Thunderbird, which is a complicated software comprising million lines of code. Before I start coding, I have to fully understand what the bug is and decide the scope in which the bug is located. Also, I need to know how relative code works and see why it’s going wrong. Then, I can propose an enhancement suggestion and start adding my code fix to existing structure. During this process, I need to talk to people through IRC and try to find materials to solve my problems. All in all, this is a really valuable experience.

Secondly, my ability to debug is improved. Before I work on Thunderbird, I used to debug while I am programming simultaneously. There are two reasons for me to do this:

1)      There are convenient debugging tools such as eclipse and Visual Studio.

2)      The compile time is relatively fast (almost instantly).

Given these two reasons, I wasn’t used to considering the problem thoroughly before I start debugging. However, things are different in Thunderbird because on one hand, Venkman (JavaScript debugger for Thunderbird) is not totally reliable at all the times. On the other hand, it usually takes a relatively long time to compile my changes. As a result, I need to thoroughly consider my problem to every detail before I start compiling. Without any doubt, this is an absolute good habit for programmer.

Last but not least, I learned some new technologies and my programming ability is greatly enhanced. Thunderbird uses XPCOM that is a cross platform component object model. It brings multiple languages support as well as a set of unified API for us to call. Despite the lack of documentations, we can still get well use of these API by viewing relative idl files.

What’s Next

In the rest of this semester, I will finish up my patch for the bug and write some test for it. Hopefully I can successfully deliver my patch to the products.

Good luck to all of us,

Kefu

One Response to “Kefu Zhao — Midterm Update”

  1. […] Kefu Zhao […]

Leave a Reply

 
